Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email

News: - Make sure you know the Forum Rules and Guidelines

Also check out these related sites:

Author Topic: Book about MK's music & life  (Read 561 times)

OfflinePeterRedwhite

• Guitar George
  • i am new on here, be gentle
Book about MK's music & life
« on: September 07, 2024, 06:49:49 PM »
Dear all,

I'm a Spanish writer that often collaborates with legendary American singer/songwriter Elliott Murphy; we cowrote a novel called Dorothy And The Discovery Of America (https://almuzaralibros.com/fichalibro.php?libro=6377&edi=2) that was published in Spanish; the original version in English hasn't been published yet.

Anyway, Dorothy's publisher made me aware that it would be great to have a definitive book about Mark Knopfler and he thought I was the right person to try it. First obstacle I found was to define the right voice to tell the story as I wouldn't have felt comfortable speaking as a fictional MK and I think (considering I don't have access to MK or his private circle and there are facts with a multiplicity of versions) it is impossible to know his entire universe, so an all-knowing narrator didn't fit either. Finally I though of a narrator-fan so I could write from a consistent point of view and at the same time honor the people whose lives have been marked by Mark's music. In fact, there is a parallel story that helps the main topic (MK's life and work) to develop in which the narrator is reunited with a girl he knew in a concert of BiA tour thanks to a post she wrote in AMIT forum in 2018.

The idea is to publish the book (in Spanish, I hope someday it would be translated into English) in November, but there are still a couple of pending tasks. The publisher and I are looking for good pictures to illustrate it and I have decided to write an appendix to talk about forums/groups/etc. such as this to recognize the dedication of the people that helps to keep the legend alive.